Kitchen Cabinets

A while back we bought a bunch of used cabinets off a guy in Palm Springs for $200 bucks which is a great deal when only one is typically that price. I think we got a total of 6. The one problem was they looked like every standard cabinet in suburbia. I wanted something different. One day I was on Pinterest and found my inspiration.

I searched Craigslist for old wood to reface the cabinets with. It is hit or miss and I missed. Ultimately, I ended up using cedar picket fencing, a hammer, and random objects to make them look old.

Two different stains were used to give the pickets a weather beaten look. Instead of putting the stain directly on the wood, I saturated it with water first. Water separates the oil stain reducing the amount able to penetrate the wood.  It worked out great and the stain didn’t end up looking too dark.

In the end, I think they turned out pretty great for cheapy stock cabinets!

Image

ImageImageImageImageImageImage20130420-101544.jpg

Leave a Reply

